Posted in Uncategorized

Not great at keeping up…

I don’t keep up with the Jones and I don’t keep up with journals or my blog it seems.  I would say that I will make a new years resolution to do it…but that just means I won’t.

What I have decided to do it “declutter” a little more and become a minimalist.  I have thought about this a lot over the years and I always thought that only people who have a lot to start with are able to see the value in having less.  Growing up with constant less makes you want more.  More of everything. More clothes. More food. More gadgets. More. More.  And I did that for a while, to a point.  I have always been on of those people that says and does one in one out with my clothes and I don’t like to buy duplicates of things or new things unless the old one breaks.  But still my house is full of things that don’t bring me joy.  And that is something I am ready to change.

It is a personal opinion and so I can’t force the rest of my family to do it.  And that’s fine. I have always been of the opinion that you should lead by example. So I will lead and we will see who follows.

I am going to start with the Project 333.  I am going to take inventory of all clothing, shoes and accessories I have and see if I can do 33 items for 3 months. Good news for me is I live in Florida so there aren’t a lot of seasons to worry about. We are cold for less than a month and then back to the warm weather.

I am going to scan all my photos on to a flash drive so I have them and can get rid of the paper and scrapbooks. Might end up being a few flash drives and that’s ok.  I just need to organize them in a way that makes sense…at least to me.

It’s going to be a long road, but I’ll get there. This is one thing I am going to keep up with.  I will try to keep you up to date on it. As best I can.

Author:

"No one cares how much you know, until they know how much you care" Theodore Roosevelt

Leave a comment